OHIO

Hytek Homepage 2.png

NEW PATIENTS

Hytek line art 2.png

All Cities- $99.00 Check by Phone

 

$101.97 is Total with 3% Charge Added
Patient will be required to see the doctor on the
90th, 180th and 270th day of the year for their
Mandatory Follow Up appointments.
Follow Up Appointments are $49.00 Check by Phone
$50.47 is Total with 3% Charge Added

Hytek line art 3.png

Appointments Details:

Patients will be evaluated by the doctor every 3 months via phone after the
patient initial evaluation and the doctor will issue the patient their 90 day
recommendation extention.

“A written recommendation issued in accordance with the bill's provisions is valid for a
period of not more than 90 days. The physician may renew the recommendation for not
more than three additional periods of not more than 90 days. Thereafter, the physician
may issue another recommendation to the patient only upon a physical examination of
the patient.”

The doctor will ONLY treat adults 18 and older

Hytek line art 3.png

CARD RENEWALS

A patient or caregiver registration will be valid from the date of issuance and expire one
year later, on the last day of the month it was issued. If the patient is diagnosed as
terminally ill, the patient’s registration will expire after six months.
Annual Fee Patient Registration is $50.00.
Annual Fee Caregiver Registration is $25.00.
The state may reduce registration fees to 50% of the full registration price for a
prospective patient who qualifies for indigent or veteran status, and any prospective
caregiver for such a patient.
A veteran. To qualify for a reduced registration fee due to veteran status, the
prospective patient shall submit to the state board of pharmacy a copy of any of the
following documents. All acceptable proof documents, except veterans' identification
card, must show the veteran status as honorable, general, general under honorable
conditions, or discharged or released under conditions other than dishonorable.

SEE INFORMATION BELOW FOR DETAILS ( INFORMATION IS LOCATED AT THE VERY

BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE)

Hytek line art 3.png

State Website:

Patients under the age of 18 years old are allowed medical cannabis with a registered
caregiver. However, a certified physician may recommend treatment with medical
marijuana only after obtaining the consent of a parent or

another person responsible for providing consent to treatment.

 

Hytek line art 3.png

Medical Cannabis Patient Application:

To qualify for a patient registry identification card, a qualifying patient must:
● Patients and caregivers must present a recommending physician with an
unexpired United States passport, United States passport card, state-issued
driver's license; or other state-issued identification issued by the Ohio bureau of
motor vehicles.
● Be at least 18 years of age
● Only a physician who has obtained a certificate to recommend from the
State Medical Board of Ohio can issue a state of Ohio approved written
recommendation to use medical marijuana.

● As a way to protect patients and parents or guardians of minor patients
who seek to use marijuana prior to the creation and implementation of all the
administrative rules necessary to run the Ohio Medical Marijuana Control
Program, HB 523 created an affirmative defense for certain marijuana-related
crimes. According to the law, a patient, parent, or guardian can only raise an
affirmative defense if they have, among other requirements, received a written
recommendation from his or her doctor that certifies a certain number of criteria
are met. The Board recommends that physicians consult with their private legal
counsel and/or employer for interpretation of the legislation.

Hytek line art 3.png

Debilitating Conditions

Certified physicians may recommend medical marijuana only for the treatment of
a qualifying medical condition. Under Ohio law, all of the following are qualifying
medical conditions:


● AIDS
● Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)
● Alzheimer’s Disease
● Cancer
● Chronic Traumatic Encephalopathy
● Crohn’s Disease
● Epilepsy or another Seizure Disorder
● Fibromyalgia
● Glaucoma
● Hepatitis C
● Inflammatory Bowel Disease (IBD)
● Multiple Sclerosis (MS)
● Pain that is either Chronic and Severe or Intractable
● Parkinson’s Disease
● Positive status for HIV
● Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder
● Sickle Cell Anemia
● Spinal Cord Disease or Injury
● Tourette’s Syndrome
● Traumatic Brain Injury
● Ulcerative Colitis

WELCOME

House Bill 523, effective on September 8, 2016, legalizes medical marijuana in Ohio.
The Ohio Medical Marijuana Control Program will allow people with certain medical

conditions, upon the recommendation of an Ohio-licensed physician certified by the
State Medical Board, to purchase and use medical marijuana.
While the legislation set a basic framework for the program, it left the task of
establishing specific rules and guidelines for the cultivation, processing, testing,
dispensing and medical use of marijuana to different state agencies. This site is
designed to keep Ohioans informed about Ohio’s Medical Marijuana Control Program.
Rules, Program resources and important updates can be found here.

STATEMENT ON PATIENT IDENTIFICATION CARDS

In response to a number of inquiries from Ohio residents on how to obtain a medical
marijuana patient card or "affirmative defense" card, please note that no patient
identification cards are being issued by the state of Ohio's Medical Marijuana Control
Program (MMCP) at this time. The only valid state ID cards will be issued by the State
of Ohio Board of Pharmacy once the state's patient registry becomes available no later
than September 2018.

For more information, the MMCP has established a patients and
caregivers webpage that can be accessed by more info button.

Individuals can also sign up for
automated email updates (including up-to- date information on patient ID cards) below.

Hytek line art 3.png

PATIENTS & CAREGIVERS FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

ASKED QUESTIONS:

What are the qualifying medical conditions that may be treated with medical marijuana?

Certified physicians may recommend medical marijuana only for the treatment of a
qualifying medical condition. Under Ohio law, all of the following are qualifying medical
conditions: AIDS, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, Alzheimer’s disease, cancer, chronic
traumatic encephalopathy, Crohn’s disease, epilepsy or another seizure disorder,
fibromyalgia, glaucoma, hepatitis C, inflammatory bowel disease, multiple sclerosis,
pain that is either chronic and severe or intractable, Parkinson’s disease, positive status
for HIV, post-traumatic stress disorder, sickle cell anemia, spinal cord disease or injury,
Tourette’s syndrome, traumatic brain injury, and ulcerative colitis.


CAN NEW QUALIFYING MEDICAL CONDITIONS BE ADDED?

The State Medical Board of Ohio established Nov. 1, 2018 – Dec. 31, 2018 as the first
submission period for petitions to add a qualifying medical condition to the Medical

Marijuana Control Program. NO PETITIONS WILL BE ACCEPTED BEFORE NOV. 1,
2018.
During the submission period next fall, all petitions should be filed electronically through
the State’s website, medicalmarijuana.ohio.gov. A petition needs to include:
The name and contact information
Specific disease or condition requested to be added
Information from experts who specialize in the study of the disease or condition
Relevant medical or scientific evidence
Consideration of whether conventional medical therapies are insufficient to treat or
alleviate the disease or condition
Evidence supporting the use of medical marijuana to treat or alleviate the disease or
condition and other types of medical or scientific documentation
Letters of support provided by physicians
Rule 4731-32- 05, Ohio Administrative Code provides details regarding how to file a
petition to add a condition and the supporting documentation is available in Ohio
Administrative Code 4731-32- 05.
Under Ohio law, all of the following are already identified as qualifying medical
conditions: AIDS, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, Alzheimer’s disease, cancer, chronic
traumatic encephalopathy, Crohn’s disease, epilepsy or another seizure disorder,
fibromyalgia, glaucoma, hepatitis C, inflammatory bowel disease, multiple sclerosis,
pain that is either chronic and severe or intractable, Parkinson’s disease, positive status
for HIV, post-traumatic stress disorder, sickle cell anemia, spinal cord disease or injury,
Tourette’s syndrome, traumatic brain injury, and ulcerative colitis.


DO I NEED TO REGISTER?

Yes. All medical marijuana patients and their caregivers are required to register with the
State Board of Pharmacy. Full details regarding registration as a patient or caregiver
can be found in Chapter 3796:7-2 of the Ohio Administrative Code.

HOW LONG WILL REGISTRATION BE VALID?

A patient or caregiver registration will be valid from the date of issuance and expire one
year later, on the last day of the month it was issued. If the patient is diagnosed as
terminally ill, the patient’s registration will expire after six months.
Requirements when recommending medical marijuana treatment.
When issuing a written recommendation to a patient, the physician must specify any
information required in rules adopted by the Medical Board. A written recommendation
issued in accordance with the bill's provisions is valid for a period of not more than 90
days. The physician may renew the recommendation for not more than three additional
periods of not more than 90 days. Thereafter, the physician may issue another
recommendation to the patient only upon a physical examination of the patient.


WILL MY REGISTRATION STATUS BE MADE PUBLICLY AVAILABLE?


No. The law prohibits the Board of Pharmacy, as well as licensed dispensaries, from
making personal identifying information public. Physicians and those employed by
dispensaries will be able to verify a patient or caregiver’s registration.


WHERE WILL I BE ABLE TO OBTAIN MEDICAL MARIJUANA?

Medical marijuana will be available from retail dispensaries licensed by the Board of
Pharmacy. Once the Board of Pharmacy has completed its dispensary licensing
process dispensary locations will be made available through this site.


WHAT FORMS OF MEDICAL MARIJUANA WILL BE AVAILABLE?


The following forms of medical marijuana are permitted: oils, tinctures, plant material,
edibles and patches. The law prohibits the use of medical marijuana by smoking or
combustion, but does allows for vaporization (vaping). The law prohibits any form that is
attractive to children.

Smoking prohibition The bill expressly prohibits the use of medical marijuana by smoking or combustion, but allows for vaporization.22

CAN NEW FORMS BE APPROVED?


Yes. An individual may petition the Board of Pharmacy to approve an additional form or
method of using medical marijuana. The petition form can be found by visiting:
www.medicalmarijuana.ohio.gov/AddFormMethod.
Please note: The law prohibits any form or method considered attractive to children.


WILL MEDICAL MARIJUANA BE AVAILABLE TO MINORS?


Yes. However, a certified physician may recommend treatment with medical marijuana
only after obtaining the consent of a parent or another person responsible for providing
consent to treatment.


WILL I BE PERMITTED TO GROW MEDICAL MARIJUANA FOR PERSONAL
CONSUMPTION?


No. The law prohibits the cultivation of medical marijuana for personal, family, or
household use.


HOW MUCH MEDICAL MARIJUANA WILL A REGISTERED PATIENT OR
CAREGIVER BE ABLE TO POSSESS AT ONE TIME?


The amount of medical marijuana possessed by a registered patient or caregiver must
not exceed a 90-day supply. Full details regarding a 90-day supply can be found in Ohio
Administrative Rule 3796:8-2- 04.

WILL I BE ABLE TO USE MY MEDICAL MARIJUANA REGISTRATION CARD IN
OTHER STATES? WILL AN OUT-OF- STATE CARD BE RECOGNIZED IN OHIO?


The law requires that the Board of Pharmacy attempt to negotiate and enter into
reciprocity agreements with other states. Before entering into an agreement with
another state, the Board must determine that both of the following apply:
(1) The eligibility requirements imposed by the other state in order to obtain a registry
identification card are substantially comparable to Ohio’s requirements; and,
(2) The other state recognizes a patient or caregiver registration and identification card
issued in Ohio.


DOES OHIO RECOGNIZE MEDICAL MARIJUANA CARDS ISSUED BY OTHER
STATES?


Currently, Ohio does not recognize medical marijuana registry cards issued in other
states. The law requires that the Board of Pharmacy attempt in good faith to negotiate
and enter into reciprocity agreements with other states. If Ohio does enter into a
reciprocity agreement with another state, more information will be posted to the
OMMCP website.


WHAT IS REQUIRED OF A PHYSICIAN TO RECOMMEND MEDICAL MARIJUANA
NOW THAT HOUSE BILL 523 IS EFFECTIVE?


A physician is not permitted to issue a state of Ohio approved written recommendation
to use medical marijuana until the physician has obtained a certificate to recommend
from the State Medical Board of Ohio. Per Bill 523, the rules outlining the standards and
process needed to obtain such a certificate to recommend will be developed no later
than September 8, 2017.

For more information, please visit the website for the State
Medical Board of Ohio.

As a way to protect patients and parents or guardians of minor patients who seek to use
marijuana prior to the creation and implementation of all the administrative rules
necessary to run the Ohio Medical Marijuana Control Program, HB 523 created an
affirmative defense for certain marijuana-related crimes. According to the law, a patient,
parent, or guardian can only raise an affirmative defense if they have, among other
requirements, received a written recommendation from his or her doctor that certifies a
certain number of criteria are met. The Board recommends that physicians consult with
their private legal counsel and/or employer for interpretation of the legislation.

Hytek line art 3.png

PHYSICIANS FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

ASKED QUESTIONS:

HOW CAN A PATIENT OBTAIN A RECOMMENDATION FOR MEDICAL MARIJUANA
IN THE STATE OF OHIO?


The federal government prohibits doctors from being able to prescribe marijuana.
Instead, patients must have a recommendation from a certified physician. Physicians
interested in recommending the use of medical marijuana for patients must apply for a
certificate to recommend from the State Medical Board of Ohio. At this time, the State
Medical Board of Ohio is on track to start issuing certificates to recommend in Spring
2018. This will be an online process managed through the state’s eLicense portal.
Additional instructions will be posted on medicalmarijuana.ohio.gov once the
certification process is put in place.


WHAT RULES ARE THE MEDICAL BOARD WORKING ON RELATED TO THE OHIO
MEDICAL MARIJUANA CONTROL PROGRAM?

All of the Medical Board rules are now available online.

House Bill 523 authorized the State Medical Board of Ohio to adopt rules for the
following:


The procedures that a physician must follow when applying for a certificate to
recommend;
The conditions that must be met to be eligible for a certificate to recommend;
The schedule and procedures for renewing a certificate to recommend;
The reasons for which a certificate to recommend may be suspended or revoked;
The standards under which a certificate to recommend suspension may be lifted; and,
The minimal standards of care when recommending treatment with medical marijuana.


WHAT ARE THE REQUIREMENTS FOR DOCTORS WANTING A CERTIFICATE TO
RECOMMEND?


Applicants must hold an active, unrestricted MD or DO license from the State Medical
Board of Ohio. Additionally, applicants will need to complete at least two hours of
continuing medical education that will assist in diagnosing qualifying conditions, treating
those conditions with medical marijuana and possible drug interactions. Full
requirements for a certificate to recommend outlined in Ohio Administrative Code 4731-
32-02.


WHERE CAN A PHYSICIAN FIND THE QUALIFYING CME TRAINING?


Only medical marijuana CMEs approved by the Ohio State Medical Association and the
Ohio Osteopathic Association meet the requirements for a certificate to recommend.

OSMA has posted information on its website; OOA will be sharing additional information
soon.

IS AFFIRMATIVE DEFENSE STILL APPLICABLE NOW THAT THE MEDICAL BOARD
HAS FINALIZED THEIR MEDICAL MARIJUANA RULES?


As a way to protect patients and parents or guardians of minor patients who seek to use
marijuana prior to the creation and implementation of all the administrative rules
necessary to run the Ohio Medical Marijuana Control Program, HB 523 created an
affirmative defense for certain marijuana-related crimes. According to the law, a patient,
parent, or guardian can only raise an affirmative defense if they have, among other
requirements, received a written recommendation from his or her doctor that certifies a
certain number of criteria are met. The Board recommends that physicians consult with
their private legal counsel and/or employer for interpretation of the legislation.
The affirmative defense established by HB 523 may be raised only for conduct
occurring on or after the effective date of the legislation, but no later than sixty days
after the date the State Board of Pharmacy begins accepting applications for patient
registration pursuant to Ohio Revised Code 3796.08.


WHAT ARE THE QUALIFYING MEDICAL CONDITIONS THAT MAY BE TREATED
WITH MEDICAL MARIJUANA?


Certified physicians may recommend medical marijuana only for the treatment of a
qualifying medical condition. Under Ohio law, all of the following are qualifying medical
conditions: AIDS, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, Alzheimer’s disease, cancer, chronic
traumatic encephalopathy, Crohn’s disease, epilepsy or another seizure disorder,
fibromyalgia, glaucoma, hepatitis C, inflammatory bowel disease, multiple sclerosis,
pain that is either chronic and severe or intractable, Parkinson’s disease, positive status
for HIV, post-traumatic stress disorder, sickle cell anemia, spinal cord disease or injury,
Tourette’s syndrome, traumatic brain injury, and ulcerative colitis.


HOW CAN NEW QUALIFYING MEDICAL CONDITIONS BE ADDED?


The State Medical Board of Ohio established Nov. 1, 2018 – Dec. 31, 2018 as the first
submission period for petitions to add a qualifying medical condition to the Medical
Marijuana Control Program. PETITIONS WILL BE ACCEPTED BEFORE NOV. 1, 2018.
During the submission period next fall, all petitions should be filed electronically through
the State’s website, medical marijuana.ohio.gov. A petition needs to include:
The name and contact information
Specific disease or condition requested to be added
Information from experts who specialize in the study of the disease or condition
Relevant medical or scientific evidence
Consideration of whether conventional medical therapies are insufficient to treat or
alleviate the disease or condition

Evidence supporting the use of medical marijuana to treat or alleviate the disease or
condition and other types of medical or scientific documentation
Letters of support provided by physicians
Under Ohio law, all of the following are already identified as qualifying medical
conditions: AIDS, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, Alzheimer’s disease, cancer, chronic
traumatic encephalopathy, Crohn’s disease, epilepsy or another seizure disorder,
fibromyalgia, glaucoma, hepatitis C, inflammatory bowel disease, multiple sclerosis,
pain that is either chronic and severe or intractable, Parkinson’s disease, positive status
for HIV, post-traumatic stress disorder, sickle cell anemia, spinal cord disease or injury,
Tourette’s syndrome, traumatic brain injury, and ulcerative colitis.


WILL MEDICAL MARIJUANA BE AVAILABLE TO MINORS?


Yes. However, a physician holding an active certificate to recommend may recommend
treatment with medical marijuana only after obtaining the consent of a parent or another
person responsible for providing consent to treatment.


MAY A LICENSEE OF THE MEDICAL BOARD ADMINISTER, DISPENSE, UTILIZE,
OR TOPICALLY APPLY PRODUCTS CONTAINING MEDICAL MARIJUANA IN THE
COURSE OF TREATMENT OF A PATIENT?


No. Ohio law does not authorize any Medical Board licensee to possess medical
marijuana in the course of his or her practice. This includes the application of massage
oils and creams containing cannabinoids, including THC or CBD.

Hytek line art 3.png

Chapter 3796:7-1 Definitions

3796:7-1-01 DEFINITIONS

(A) "Administer" or "administration" means the direct introduction of medical marijuana
into the body of a human, whether inhalation, ingestion, or any other means.
(B) "Business day" means any day other than Saturday, Sunday or a holiday recognized
by the state of Ohio on which the state board of pharmacy is not open for business.

(C) "Terminal illness" means a qualifying condition for which a prospective patient has
received a diagnosis for a life expectancy of six months or less if the illness runs its
normal course.
(D) "Refuse to grant or renew" means to deny original or continued registration for a
period of at least twelve months. After twelve months or such period of time as the
individual board order may require, a patient or caregiver or an individual who desires to
attain such status by registration, and whose registration the state board of pharmacy
has refused to grant or renew, may make application to the board for issuance of a new
registration in accordance with Chapter 3796. of the Revised Code and this division. An
individual who desires to attain patient or caregiver status by registration and whose
registration the state board of pharmacy has refused to grant or renew must meet any
requirements established by the board.
(E) "Registry identification card" collectively refers to cards issued by the state board of
pharmacy as evidence that an individual is registered as a patient or caregiver.
(F) "Revoke" means to take action against a registration rendering such registration void
and such registration may not be reissued. "Revoke" is an action that is permanent
against the registration and registrant.
(G) "Stale registration" means a submission to register as a patient or caregiver where
the submitter fails to complete all submission requirements within ninety calendar days
of the initiation of a registration by a physician, and after being notified by the state
board of pharmacy, subject to the factors that would otherwise remove the submitter
from consideration under Chapter 3796. of the Revised Code or this division. An
individual forfeits all fees associated with a stale registration submission. The state
board of pharmacy shall not be required to act on any stale registration and the
registration may be destroyed by the board staff. If the registration is stale, the submitter
shall be required to reapply for registration in accordance with Chapter 3796. of the
Revised Code and this division, in effect at the time of resubmission.
(H) "Suspend" means to take action against a registration rendering such registration
without force and effect for a period of time as determined by the state board of
pharmacy.
(I) "Veteran" means any person who has completed service in the armed forces,
including the national guard of any state, or a reserve component of the armed forces,
who has been discharged under honorable conditions from the armed forces or who has
been transferred to the reserve with evidence of satisfactory service.

Chapter 3796:7-2 Registration of Patients and Caregivers
3796:7-2- 01 Procedure for patient registration.
(A) Before medical marijuana may be dispensed to or for, possessed by or for, or
administered by or for a prospective patient, the prospective patient must be placed on

the registry established by the state board of pharmacy in accordance with section
3796.08 of the Revised Code.
(B) To qualify for placement on the registry, a prospective patient must:
(1) Establish and maintain a bona fide physician-patient relationship with a
recommending physician who shall submit a complete patient registration submission;
(2) Receive a diagnosis or confirmation of a qualifying condition from the recommending
physician;
(3) Consent to treatment with medical marijuana. If the patient is a minor, the
prospective patient's parent or legal representative shall consent to treatment with
medical marijuana;
(4) Remit to the state board of pharmacy the required fee; and
(5) Unless otherwise provided pursuant to a reciprocal agreement under division (A) of
section 3796.16 of the Revised Code, be an Ohio resident.
(C) A physician with whom a prospective patient has a bona fide physician-patient
relationship, or, subject to the limitations under section 3796.08 of the Revised Code,
the physician's delegate, shall submit the patient registration. For a registration
submission, related to a patient who is eighteen years of age or older, to be considered
complete, a completed recommendation from a physician, applicable patient registration
fee, and the following items must be submitted to the state board of pharmacy in a
manner suitable to the board:
(1) Patient full name, residential address, telephone number, date of birth, electronic
mail address, and qualifying condition(s);
(2) Patient's government-issued identification number (such as driver's license number).
Patients and caregivers must present a recommending physician with an unexpired
United States passport, United States passport card, state-issued driver's license; or
other state-issued identification issued by the Ohio bureau of motor vehicles (BMV);
(3) Recommending physician's full name (first name and last name);
(4) Drug enforcement administration physician identification number and medical
license number issued by the state medical board;
(5) Recommending physician's certificate to recommend identification number issued by
the state medical board;
(6) Date recommendation was issued by the recommending physician;
(7) Recommending physician's business address, telephone number, and email
address;
(8) Indication whether the recommendation is new or a renewal;
(9) The following patient attestations:
(a) The physician has explained to the individual the possible risks and benefits
associated with the use of medical marijuana;
(b) The individual consents to treatment with medical marijuana; and

(c) The individual agrees to comply with Chapters 2925. and 3796. of the Revised Code
and this division.
(10) An attestation from the recommending physician in accordance with division (A)(2)
of section 3796.08 of the Revised Code; and
(11) Such other information as the state board of pharmacy may reasonably require.
(D) If a prospective patient is younger than eighteen years of age, a patient registration
submission must be accompanied by a caregiver registration submission in accordance
with rule 3796:7-2- 03 of the Administrative Code, before it will be considered complete.
Patients who become eighteen years of age during the time period in which their
registration is valid may apply for a new registration either immediately or in accordance
with the renewal process under paragraph (K) of this rule. A submission from a patient
that includes all information found in paragraph (C) of this rule, shall be considered
complete.
(E) A complete patient registration submission must be received by the state board of
pharmacy within ninety calendar days of the date on which the recommendation was
created by the prospective patient's recommending physician.
(F) Applications submitted by an applicant diagnosed with a terminal illness shall be
approved or denied within ten business days. To qualify for registration as a patient
diagnosed with a terminal illness, the prospective patient's registration submission shall
include with the registration submission, an attestation specifying that the patient has a
terminal illness, submitted by the patient's recommending physician.
(1) The registration of a patient who is registered as someone who is terminally ill shall
be valid from the date of issuance and expire after six months.
(2) If after a period of six months, a patient's terminally ill condition continues and the
patient's recommending physician continues to recommend medical marijuana, the
recommending physician shall confirm that patient's condition continues to be a terminal
illness.
(3) The registration for patients whose terminally ill condition has been confirmed after a
period of six months, pursuant to paragraph (F)(2) of this rule, shall expire in
accordance with paragraph (I) of this rule.
(G) If a registration submission is determined to be inaccurate or incomplete, the state
board of pharmacy shall send the prospective patient notice of the deficiency. If the
deficiency is not corrected within ninety calendar days from the date that the registration
was submitted by a physician, the submission shall be considered stale.
(H) Prospective patients must provide proof of Ohio residency to their recommending
physician or the physician's delegate during the physician's initiation of the registration
submission process. Proof of Ohio residency shall include one of the following:
(1) The prospective patient's unexpired Ohio driver's license;
(2) The prospective patient's unexpired Ohio identification card issued by the Ohio
bureau of motor vehicles (BMV); or

(3) The prospective patient's unexpired United States passport or United States
passport card.
(I) A patient registration shall be valid from the date of issuance and expire one year
later, on the last day of the month it was issued, unless issued pursuant to paragraph
(F) of this rule.
(J) The state board of pharmacy shall send a notification to each patient forty-five
calendar days before the expiration date on the patient's registry identification card.
(K) To maintain a valid patient registration, a patient must annually renew, before the
expiration date stated on the patient's registry identification, a patient registration, in
accordance with this rule. Renewal submissions, fees, and required documentation may
be submitted up to thirty calendar days before the registration will expire. Failure to
renew a patient registration will result in an automatic suspension.
Effective: 9/8/2017
Five Year Review (FYR) Dates: 09/08/2022
Promulgated Under: 119.03
Statutory Authority: 3796.04
Rule Amplifies: 3796.04 , 3796.08, 3796.16
3796:7-2- 02 Caregiver eligibility.
(A) Unless otherwise provided in paragraph (B) of this rule, only natural persons twenty-
one years of age or older may register with the state board of pharmacy to serve as a
caregiver for a qualifying patient.
(B) Notwithstanding the age limitation in paragraph (A) of this rule, the parent of a minor
patient who is eighteen years of age or older and who otherwise meets the
requirements of Chapter 3796. of the Revised Code and this division, may serve as the
minor patient's caregiver.
(C) No person shall serve as a caregiver for any patient before registering with the state
board of pharmacy in accordance with rule 3796:7-2- 03 of the Administrative Code.
(D) A patient shall designate no more than two caregivers. The state board of pharmacy
shall register no more than two caregivers for each patient.
(E) An individual shall serve as a caregiver for no more than two patients. Except as
provided in paragraph (F) of this rule, the state board of pharmacy shall associate no
more than two patients for each caregiver.
(F) Notwithstanding the limitations in paragraphs (D) and (E) of this rule, upon a written
request on a form in accordance with section 3796.04 of the Revised Code, the state
board of pharmacy may, in its discretion, permit an individual to serve as a caregiver for
more than two patients and for a patient to designate more than two caregivers:
(1) In order to avoid unnecessary hardship to the patient or patients;
(2) Where the patient's care is being provided in a hospice program licensed under
Chapter 3712. of the Revised Code; or

(3) Where the caregiver is simultaneously caring for multiple patients who reside in the
same household as the caregiver.
(G) If a patient requests permission to change a caregiver before renewal, the patient
shall cause a change of caregiver request to be submitted by the recommending
physician, or, subject to the limitations under section 3796.08 of the Revised Code, the
physician's delegate, whom shall set forth the reasons the patient seeks to change
caregivers and conform with the caregiver registration requirements under rule 3796:7-
2-03 of the Administrative Code. The state board of pharmacy shall approve a new
caregiver only if such individual meets the requirements of Chapter 3796. of the
Revised Code and this division.
(H) A patient's recommending physician shall not serve as the patient's caregiver.
(I) The state board of pharmacy shall deny a submission for a caregiver registration if
the individual identified on the submission is included in one or more of the following
databases:
(1) The system for award management (SAM) maintained by the United States general
services administration;
(2) The list of excluded individuals and entities maintained by the office of inspector
general in the United States department of health and human services pursuant to 42
U.S.C. part 1320a-7 (as effective on January 3, 2017) and 42 U.S.C. part 1320c-5 (as
effective on January 3, 2017);
(3) The Ohio department of developmental disabilities (DODD) online abuser registry
established under section 5123.52 of the Revised Code;
(4) The internet-based sex offender and child-victim offender database established
under division (A)(11) of section 2950.13 of the Revised Code;
(5) The national sex offender public website established under 18 United States Code
16918;
(6) The internet-based database of department of rehabilitation and correction inmates
established under section 5120.66 of the Revised Code; or
(7) The state nurse aide registry established under section 3721.32 of the Revised
Code, and there is a statement detailing findings by the director of health that the
provider applicant or employee neglected or abused a long-term care facility or
residential care facility resident or misappropriated property of such a resident.
Effective: 9/8/2017
Five Year Review (FYR) Dates: 09/08/2022
Promulgated Under: 119.03
Statutory Authority: 3796.04
Rule Amplifies: 3796.04 , 3796.08
3796:7-2- 03 Procedure for caregiver registration.
(A) Medical marijuana may not be possessed by or administered to anyone other than a
patient, unless the person is a caregiver who is placed on the registry established by the

state board of pharmacy in accordance with section 3796.08 of the Revised Code. A
registered caregiver may possess and administer medical marijuana to patients with
whom the caregiver's registration is associated.
(B) An individual who meets the caregiver eligibility requirements under rule 3796:7-2-
02 of the Administrative Code may be registered as a caregiver if the following are
submitted to the state board of pharmacy in a manner suitable to the board:
(1) Identification of a patient who is registered or attempting to register as a patient
pursuant to rule 3796:7-2- 01 of the Administrative Code and for whom the individual
intends to serve as a caregiver;
(2) Completed caregiver registration submission in accordance with paragraph (C) of
this rule; and
(3) Required fee.
(C) The recommending physician with whom the patient or prospective patient has a
bona fide physician-patient relationship, or the physician's delegate, shall submit the
caregiver registration. For a registration submission to be considered complete, the
applicable caregiver registration fee and the following items must be submitted to the
state board of pharmacy in a manner suitable to the board:
(1) Caregiver's full name, caregiver residential address, caregiver telephone number,
caregiver date of birth, caregiver electronic mail address;
(2) Caregiver's government-issued identification number (such as driver's license
number). Patients and caregivers must present a physician with an unexpired United
States passport, United States passport card, state-issued driver's license, or other
state-issued identification issued by the Ohio bureau of motor vehicles (BMV);
(3) Associated patient name;
(4) Associated patient registration number issued by the state board of pharmacy, if
available;
(5) Recommending physician's full name (first name and last name);
(6) Drug enforcement administration physician identification number;
(7) Recommending physician's medical license number issued by the state medical
board;
(8) Recommending physician's certificate to recommend identification number issued by
the state medical board;
(9) Date recommendation was issued by the recommending physician;
(10) Recommending physician's business address, telephone number, and email
address;
(11) Indication whether the recommendation is new or a renewal;
(12) Such other information as the state board of pharmacy may reasonably require.
(D) All prospective caregivers shall attest to the following:
(1) The physician has explained to the caregiver the possible risks and benefits
associated with the use of medical marijuana;

(2) The individual agrees to serve as the caregiver for the patient identified on their
registry submission;
(3) The individual agrees to control the dosage and frequency of the use of medical
marijuana in accordance with any instruction for use provided by the physician; and
(4) The individual agrees to comply with Chapters 2925. and 3796. of the Revised Code
and this division.
(E) A prospective caregiver for a patient younger than eighteen years of age shall be:
(1) An Ohio resident, unless authorized pursuant to a reciprocity agreement established
pursuant to section 3796.16 of the Revised Code;
(2) The patient's parent or legal representative; and
(3) Shall attest in accordance with paragraph (D) of this rule and to the following:
(a) That the prospective caregiver is the parent or legal representative of the individual
under eighteen years of age; and
(b) The parent or legal representative understands the information provided by the
physician and knowingly consents to the use of medical marijuana by the individual
under eighteen years of age.
(F) To be eligible for an exception under paragraph (F)(2) of rule 3796:7-2- 02 of the
Administrative Code, a hospice provider shall:
(1) Register as caregivers all employees who will possess or administer medical
marijuana in accordance with this rule; and
(2) Notify the state board of pharmacy when a patient with an active medical marijuana
registration issued by the board is admitted to hospice pursuant to rule 3701-19- 20 of
the Administrative Code.
(G) A caregiver registration shall be valid from the date of issuance and expire one year
later, on the last day of the month it was issued.
(H) The state board of pharmacy shall send a notification to each caregiver forty-five
calendar days before the expiration date on the caregiver's registry identification card.
(I) To maintain a valid caregiver registration, a caregiver must annually renew, before
the expiration date stated on the caregiver's registry identification, a caregiver
registration submission, in accordance with this rule. Renewal applications, fees, and
required documentation may be submitted up to thirty calendar days before the
caregiver registration will expire.
Effective: 9/8/2017
Five Year Review (FYR) Dates: 09/08/2022
Promulgated Under: 119.03
Statutory Authority: 3796.04
Rule Amplifies: 3796.04 , 3796.08
3796:7-2- 04 Purchase of medical marijuana.

(A) A patient or caregiver may only purchase medical marijuana pursuant to a valid and
active recommendation issued by a physician pursuant to rule 4731-32- 03 of the
Administrative Code.
(B) No patient under eighteen years of age shall purchase medical marijuana.
(C) Patients and caregivers must provide their registry identification card and
photographic identification before entering the dispensary department. Acceptable
photographic identification includes:
(1) An unexpired state driver's license;
(2) An unexpired Ohio identification card issued by the Ohio bureau of motor vehicles
(BMV); or
(3) An unexpired United States passport or United States passport card.
(D) The identification number on the photographic identification provided to a
dispensary employee must be identical to the identification number included in the
patient or caregiver's registration record.
(E) Before purchasing medical marijuana, patients and caregivers must provide the
dispensing employee their registry identification card and photographic identification
described in paragraph (C) of this rule.
(F) A patient may purchase any portion of their ninety-day supply at any time except
that no patient shall receive more than a ninety-day supply in a ninety-day period.
(G) A caregiver may obtain no more than a ninety-day supply of medical marijuana in a
ninety-day period on behalf of a single patient. A caregiver shall purchase no more than
the aggregate amount of medical marijuana authorized for each of the caregiver's
patients.
Effective: 9/8/2017
Five Year Review (FYR) Dates: 09/08/2022
Promulgated Under: 119.03
Statutory Authority: 3796.04
Rule Amplifies: 3796.04 , 3796.08, 3796.22, 3796.23
3796:7-2- 05 Patient and caregiver registry - generally.
(A) Patient and caregiver registrations are non-transferrable.
(B) Patients and caregivers shall not engage in the cultivation of medical marijuana or
the manufacture of medical marijuana extract, unless authorized pursuant to rule
3796:5-2- 01 of the Administrative Code and such cultivating or manufacturing is
performed in compliance with rules promulgated by the department pursuant to section
3796.03 of the Revised Code.
(C) No patient or caregiver shall accept free samples of medical marijuana.
(D) Patients and caregivers shall purchase medical marijuana only from a medical
marijuana dispensary with an active certificate of operation issued by the state board of
pharmacy, or where authorized pursuant to a reciprocity agreement established
pursuant to section 3796.16 of the Revised Code.

(E) Patients and caregivers shall store medical marijuana in a secure location so as to
prevent theft, loss, or access by persons not authorized under this division.
(F) Patients and caregivers shall carry their registry identification with them whenever
they are in possession of medical marijuana. No more than a ninety day supply of
medical marijuana may be possessed by or on behalf of a single patient at any time.
(G) Medical marijuana shall be maintained in on one of the following containers at all
times until administered to or by a patient:
(1) The original dispensing package with an unaltered dispensary label in accordance
with rule 3796:6-3- 09 of the Administrative Code; or
(2) The container provided by a dispensary in accordance with paragraph (G) of rule
3796:6-3- 01 of the Administrative Code.
(H) Medical marijuana shall not be possessed or administered on federal property or in
federal buildings.
(I) Medical marijuana shall not be possessed or administered at any public or private
place where medical marijuana is prohibited.
(J) No patient shall operate a vehicle, streetcar, trackless trolley, watercraft, or aircraft
under the influence of medical marijuana.
(K) A caregiver shall not receive payment or other compensation for services provided
as a caregiver other than reimbursement for reasonable expenses incurred in the
provision of services as a caregiver. In the case of an employee of a hospice provider,
nursing facility, or medical facility, or a visiting nurse, personal care attendant, or home
health aide serving as a caregiver, the individual shall not receive payment or
compensation above or beyond his or her regular wages.
(L) The state board of pharmacy shall notify patients and caregivers upon the expiration
of the patient's or caregiver's registration. Patients and caregivers shall dispose of all
medical marijuana within seven calendar days of the expiration of their registration.
Acceptable methods for the dispossession of medical marijuana shall be available at
www.medicalmarijuana.ohio.gov.
(M) If a patient's registration is suspended or revoked, or if a patient's registration
lapses, the patient or caregiver shall dispose of all medical marijuana dispensed for the
benefit of that patient within seven calendar days of the expiration of their registration.
Acceptable methods for the dispossession of medical marijuana shall be available at
www.medicalmarijuana.ohio.gov.
3796:7-2- 06 Voluntary relinquishment of a medical marijuana registration.
(A) At any time, a patient or caregiver may voluntarily relinquish their patient or
caregiver medical marijuana registration by notifying the state board of pharmacy in
writing.
(B) A patient or caregiver shall, within fourteen calendar days of learning from a
recommending physician that the patient no longer has a diagnosis of a qualifying
condition:

(1) Notify the state board of pharmacy, in writing, of the patient's voluntary registration
relinquishment; or
(2) If the patient seeks to maintain an active patient registration, request in writing, a
hearing in accordance with Chapter 119. of the Revised Code, seeking authorization to
maintain an active patient registration.
(C) Medical marijuana shall not be purchased or otherwise obtained without an active
recommendation from a recommending physician. A patient who maintains an active
registration in accordance with Chapter 3796. of the Revised Code and this division, but
whose recommendation has been suspended, shall be authorized only to possess and
administer medical marijuana lawfully obtained pursuant to Chapter 3796. of the
Revised Code and this division.
(D) If the voluntary relinquishment of a medical marijuana patient registration, or a
decision by the board to inactivate a patient registration, will cause a caregiver to no
longer have a patient associated with the caregiver's registration, the caregiver shall:
(1) Notify the state board of pharmacy, in writing, of the patient's voluntary registration
relinquishment; or
(2) If the caregiver seeks to maintain active caregiver registration, request in writing, a
hearing in accordance with Chapter 119. of the Revised Code, seeking authorization to
maintain an active caregiver registration.
(E) A caregiver shall not purchase medical marijuana without an associated patient who
has an active registration. A caregiver who maintains an active registration in
accordance with Chapter 3796. of the Revised Code and this division, shall be
authorized only to possess medical marijuana and administer medical marijuana
lawfully obtained pursuant to this division to the patient for whom the medical marijuana
was purchased.
3796:7-2- 07 Duty to report.
(A) A patient or caregiver must notify the state board of pharmacy within seven calendar
days of learning that the patient or caregiver's registry identification card has been used
fraudulently. After notification of the fraudulent use of a registry identification card, the
state board of pharmacy may issue a new registry identification card with a new registry
number.
(B) A patient or caregiver must notify the state board of pharmacy within seven calendar
days of learning that the patient or caregiver's registry was accessed without
authorization. After notification of the unauthorized access, the state board of pharmacy
may issue a new registry identification card with a new registry number.
(C) A patient or caregiver must notify the state board of pharmacy, in a manner suitable
to the board, of any change in the information, other than a change in qualifying
condition, previously provided to the board in accordance with rule 3796:7-2- 01 of the
Administrative Code not later than thirty calendar days after such change.

(D) If a patient is deceased, the patient's caregiver, if any, or a legal representative of
the patient shall notify the state board of pharmacy.
(E) A patient shall report to the state board of pharmacy a conviction of any offense
and/or any arrest or charges pending of a felony or misdemeanor offense under
Chapter 2925., 3715., 3719., or 4729. of the Revised Code, or of an arrest or conviction
in another jurisdiction that is substantially the same as a felony or misdemeanor offense
under Chapter 2925., 3715., or 4729. of the Revised Code, within fourteen calendar
days of the conviction or arrest.
(F) A caregiver shall report to the state board of pharmacy a violation of any state or
federal law or rule, regardless of jurisdiction in which acts were committed, except for
minor traffic violations such as parking violations, speeding tickets and violations such
as failure to obey a red light, failure to use a turn signal or expired registration do not
need to be reported unless the offense involved operating vehicle under the influence of
alcohol or a controlled substance. Acts in accordance to Chapter 3796. of the Revised
Code and this division that constitute a violation of federal law shall not be reported.
(G) If a patient has a caregiver, that caregiver may provide any required notification to
the state board of pharmacy on behalf of the patient using the same forms and process
in accordance with section 3796.04 of the Revised Code.
3796:7-2- 08 Grounds for discipline.
(A) The state board of pharmacy, after notice and hearing in accordance with Chapter
119. of the Revised Code, may revoke or impose any one or more of the following
sanctions on a patient or caregiver if the board finds the individual engaged in any of the
conduct set forth in paragraph (B) of this rule:
(1) Revoke, suspend, restrict, limit, or refuse to grant or renew a registration; or
(2) Reprimand or place the registrant on probation, or refuse to grant an identification
card.
(B) The board may impose the sanctions listed in paragraph (A) of this rule if the board
finds:
(1) The prospective patient or caregiver fails to meet the requirements set forth in
Chapter 3796. of the Revised Code or this division;
(2) Any information provided to the state board of pharmacy by the patient or caregiver
was false or misleading;
(3) The prospective patient's or caregiver's registration submission has been previously
revoked;
(4) The prospective patient or caregiver has had a patient or caregiver registration
previously suspended or denied;
(5) The applicant is a prospective caregiver who is already registered to serve as a
caregiver for two patients;
(6) The caregiver's sole patient has had their patient registration suspended, revoked, or
inactivated and the caregiver has not voluntarily relinquished their caregiver registration

or requested a hearing to maintain an active caregiver registration in accordance with
rule 3796:7-2- 06 of the Administrative Code;
(7) The prospective caregiver is attempting to register to serve as a caregiver for a
patient whose registration has been denied or suspended;
(8) The patient obtained more than a ninety-day supply of medical marijuana in a ninety-
day period. A ninety-day supply includes the aggregate amount of medical marijuana
obtained by a patient and all of the patient's caregivers;
(9) The caregiver obtained more than a ninety-day supply of marijuana in a ninety-day
period on behalf of a single patient;
(10) The patient is no longer diagnosed with a qualifying condition and the patient or
caregiver did not voluntarily relinquish the patient's registration or request a hearing to
maintain an active patient registration pursuant to rule 3796:7-2- 06 of the Administrative
Code;
(11) The patient or caregiver failed to report any changes in any information related to
the patient or caregiver, other than a change in medical condition, required to be
provided under rule 3796:7-2- 01 of the Administrative Code, within thirty calendar days;
(12) The patient or caregiver failed to report knowledge of conduct in violation of the
medical marijuana control program;
(13) The patient or caregiver used or maintained medical marijuana in a manner that put
others at risk or failed to take reasonable precautions to avoid putting others at risk;
(14) The patient or caregiver sold marijuana to any other person, including other
patients or caregivers;
(15) The patient or caregiver allowed another to use the patient or caregiver's
registration identification card;
(16) The patient or caregiver's medical marijuana registration was accessed by a person
without authorization and the patient or caregiver did not notify the state board of
pharmacy within seven days of learning that the registry was accessed without
authorization;
(17) The patient consumed medical marijuana using a method of administration that is
not permitted under Chapter 3796. of the Revised Code or this division;
(18) A caregiver administered medical marijuana to a patient using a method of
administration that is not permitted under Chapter 3796. of the Revised Code or this
division;
(19) The patient or caregiver allowed medical marijuana to be consumed in a place
where consumption is prohibited under Chapter 3796. of the Revised Code or this
division;
(20) The patient or caregiver tampered, falsified, altered, modified or allowed another
person to tamper, falsify, alter or modify, a patient or caregiver registry identification
card;

(21) The patient operated a vehicle, streetcar, trackless trolley, watercraft, or aircraft
under the influence of medical marijuana;
(22) The patient or caregiver grew or cultivated medical marijuana contrary to paragraph
(B) of rule 3796:7-2- 05 of the Administrative Code;
(23) The patient or caregiver knowingly misrepresented any fact or circumstances
related to the medical use of marijuana to the state board of pharmacy, law
enforcement, recommending physician, or a dispensary employee; or
(24) The patient or caregiver's medical marijuana registry identification card has been
fraudulently used and the patient or caregiver did not notify the state board of pharmacy
within seven calendar days of learning that the card was fraudulently used.
Effective: 9/8/2017
Five Year Review (FYR) Dates: 09/08/2022
Promulgated Under: 119.03
Statutory Authority: 3796.04
Rule Amplifies: 3796.04 , 3796.08
3796:7-2- 09 Suspension of a patient or caregiver registration without a hearing.
(A) Pursuant to division (B)(3) of section 3796.14 of the Revised Code, the state board
of pharmacy may suspend a patient or caregiver registration by using a telephone
conference call to review the allegations and take a vote if the board determines that
there is clear and convincing evidence that the continued dispensing or furnishing
medical marijuana to the patient or caregiver or administration of medical marijuana to
or by a patient, presents a danger of immediate and serious harm to oneself or to
others, the board may suspend the individual's license without a hearing.
(B) The board shall follow the procedure for suspension without a prior hearing in
section 119.07 of the Revised Code. The suspension shall remain in effect, unless
removed by the board, until the board's final adjudication order becomes effective,
except that if the board does not issue its final adjudication order within ninety days after
the hearing the suspension shall be void ninety-one days after the hearing.
Effective: 9/8/2017
Five Year Review (FYR) Dates: 09/08/2022
Promulgated Under: 119.03
Statutory Authority: 3796.04
Rule Amplifies: 3796.04 , 3796.08, 3796.14
3796:7-2- 10 Confidentiality of patient records at hearing.
Any document that is a patient record or that contains information that is required to be
kept confidential according to any state or federal law, for purposes of the administrative
hearing only, may be provided to a representative of record or to a witness in the
proceeding, but shall not be disseminated to any other person unless the confidential
information is redacted.
Effective: 9/8/2017

Chapter 3796:7-3 Fees
3796:7-3- 01 Medical marijuana patient and caregiver fee structure.
(A) The following non-refundable fees shall be paid to the state board of pharmacy:
(1) The annual fee for a patient registration is fifty dollars. One application fee must be
submitted with each application.
(2) The annual fee for a caregiver registration is twenty-five dollars. One application fee
must be submitted with each application.
(B) The state board of pharmacy may reduce registration fees to fifty per cent of the full
registration price for a prospective patient who qualifies for indigent or veteran status,
and any prospective caregiver for such a patient. To qualify the patient must be a
patient who is:
(1) Enrolled in the federal "Social Security Disability Income" (SSDI) or the
"Supplemental Security Income" (SSI) disability programs. To qualify for a reduced
registration fee due to enrollment in either SSDI or SSI programs, the prospective
patient shall submit to the state board of pharmacy a copy of a letter or other
documentation from the United States social security administration demonstrating the:
(a) Identity of the patient; and
(b) Amount of monthly SSDI and SSI benefits to be received by the prospective patient
during the current year of the registration submission.